Writing Inspiration: Romance Tropes in Music

Hey everyone! Today I’m bringing you a blog post that I’ve been wanting to write for quite some time. It combines two of my very favorite things: Romance tropes and music!

I am such a HUGE fan of lyrics, to the point where songs are my main form of inspiration for my writing. My two manuscripts I currently have on Swoon Reads were ideas I got from different songs.

Honey & Bee was inspired by the song “Honey and the Bee” by Owl City. There are two voices in the song which is why I have dual POV in that novel. There are even specific lyrics that directly inspired scenes. For instance, the epilogue of that story is directly inspired by the bridge of the song!

The Beauty of Revenge started off with the song “Enchanted” by Taylor Swift. The thought of meeting someone and having an instant connection to them was totally inspiring. The sound of the song made me think of young people in fancy dresses and suits, and so it directly inspired me to create my opening scene in “The Beauty of Revenge.”

Below I have a list of tropes and songs that I felt did a great job of representing those tropes. If you’re struggling with a certain scene in your book, or if you just want some new inspiration, check out these songs and some of my favorite lyrics from each song. Let me know if any of them inspire your new WIP and let me know about it in the comments!!! Likewise, if you think of any other songs/tropes that would go well together, let me know in the comments and maybe I’ll do a follow up post ^_^

Trope 1 – Playing the Field:

This is the time when a character’s got nothing to lose, so they go out into the world and date anyone they dang well please.

  • Ex’s and Oh’s – Elle King
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    Well I had me a boy, turned him into a man
    I showed him all the things that he didn’t understand
    Whoa, and then I let him go
  • Got Us Fallin’ in Love – Usher
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    Put your hands on my body, Swear I seen you before
    I think I remember those eyes, eyes, eyes, eyes
  • Despacito – Justin Beiber
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    Despacito
    Quiero respirar tu cuello despacito
    Deja que te diga cosas al oído
    Para que te acuerdes si no estás conmigo
    Despacito
    Quiero desnudarte a besos despacito
    (English translation below)

    Slowly
    I want to breathe your neck slowly
    Let me tell you things in your ears
    So that you remember when you’re not with me
    Slowly
    I want to undress you with kisses slowly

 

Trope 2 – The Bad Boy/Girl:

That person that you kind of don’t want to be with, but you just can’t resist… for better or for worse.

  • Just the Girl – Click 5
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    She laughs at my dreams, But I dream about her laughter
    Strange as it seems, She’s the one I’m after
  • Past the Point of No Return – Phantom of the Opera
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    The games we’ve played till now are at an end
    Past all thought of if or when
    No use resisting
    Abandon thought and let the dream descend
  • Trouble – Taylor Swift
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    I knew you were trouble when you walked in
    So shame on me now
    Flew me to places I’d never been
    Now I’m lying on the cold hard ground

 

Trope 3 – Things Are Falling Apart:

You thought you had the perfect relationship, but somehow, things are just not working anymore.

  • Complicated – Avril Lavigne
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    But you’ve become, Somebody else ’round everyone else
    You’re watching your back like you can’t relax
    You’re tryin’ to be cool, You look like a fool to me
  • Nothing Better – Postal Service
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    I feel I must interject here you’re getting carried away feeling sorry for yourself
    With these revisions and gaps in history
    So let me help you remember.
    I’ve made charts and graphs that should finally make it clear.
    I’ve prepared a lecture on why I have to leave

Trope 4 – Breaking-up or Being Totally Over the Break-up:

We’ve all been there. Breaking up sucks and that’s why there are PLENTY of great break-up songs. Whether it’s during or after, they’ve all got great emotional inspiration within.

  • Before He Cheats – Carrie Underwood
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    I might have saved a little trouble for the next girl
    ‘Cause the next time that he cheats
    Oh, you know it won’t be on me!
    No, not on me
  • Gives You Hell – All American Rejects
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    If you find a man that’s worth a damn and treats you well
    Then he’s a fool you’re just as well
    Hope it gives you hell
    Hope it gives you hell
  • Bye Bye Bye – NSYNC
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    Don’t want to be your fool in this game for two
    So I’m leaving you behind
    (Bye bye bye)
    I don’t want to make it tough
    (Make it tough)
    But I’ve had enough
    (Bye bye)
    And it ain’t no lie
  • Since U Been Gone – Kelly Clarkson
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    How can I put it? You put me on
    I even fell for that stupid love song
    Yeah, yeah
    Since you been gone
    How come I’ve never heard you say
    I just want to be with you?
    Guess you never felt that way

 

Trope 5 – Love at first sight:

You see them and are instantly attracted. Who knows why, but it happens.

 

Trope 6 – Friendship love:

My personal favorite kind of love. You start off friends, then it turns into something more. This might be my favorite because this is how I met my husband… and I also might have played both of these songs at my wedding 😛

  • Count On Me – Bruno Mars
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    You’ll always have my shoulder when you cry
    I’ll never let go
    Never say goodbye
    You know you can
    Count on me like one two three
  • Must’ve done something right – Relient K
    Inspirational Lyrics:
    And I know that it’s so cliche to tell you that everyday
    I spend with you is the new best day of my life
    Everyone watching us just turns away with disgust
    It’s Jealously, they can see that we’ve got it going on

 

Hope you enjoyed the post. Have a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

